Skip to content

11 Photos of 2011

December 11, 2011

You can learn a lot about yourself through introspection. You can learn even more through conversation. But retrospection… retrospection is different. It allows you to see the trends in your own behaviour or preferences, free of the constraints of what you should, or think you ought, to prefer.

Retrospection is great for soul-searching and big life decisions, but it works equally well for mundane things; like artistic tastes, or hobby preferences.

For the last couple of years, I’ve been carrying my camera around quite a bit. I’m not a great photographer, but I enjoy it. One of the most important steps in developing as a photographer is to figure out what you like taking pictures of. That understanding can later guide the inevitable expansion of your equipment: lenses, camera, lighting. For that, introspection and conversation are fine, but retrospection is best.

So, this is a slideshow of my favourite 11 pictures I’ve taken this year. I’ve tried to not over-process the images, for the most part leaving them the way they came out of the camera.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So what have I learned? I like photographs with a short focal length, that is, only a very narrow slice of the image is in focus.

I take close-ups. Probably too many close-ups. (It was hard to find any photos that weren’t.)

I like pictures with moody lighting, or shots that focus on something other than the obvious subject.

Also, apparently, I like taking pictures of animals.

Another year down, another batch of files archived in the development of a new hobby.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 11:41 am

    absolutely wonderful :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,332 other followers

